Dozens of FFA members meet to explore agriculture and its future


It’s hard not to imagine exciting things happening when FFA members from all across the country gather together to discuss agriculture and our food system. As part of the New Century Farmer conference 44 FFA members will meeting in Indianapolis to discuss how agriculture will play a pivotal role in their future.

It’s an opportunity for FFA members who plan to remain in production agriculture to work on their secession plans for success. During the week, participants will visit with producers around the state, learn from industry leaders, see innovative agricultural technology, and network with others who also plan to stay in production agriculture.

The conference, which begins today, was canceled last year due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Participants selected to participate in 2020 were invited to attend the 2021 event.

“This program helps us continue to grow the next generation of leaders who will not only change the world but continue to provide food, fiber and resources for future generations,” said Kate Wehby, educational specialist for the National FFA Programs and Events Division. “We’re excited to bring this program back as an in-person event this year and offer the opportunity to learn and grow together while expanding their networking pool.”

Those attending the conference this year are:

  • Darren Borba from California
  • Emily Kern from Connecticut
  • Abby Edwards from Delaware
  • Cody Emerson and Joshua Jantz from Florida
  • Brodina Bousselot and Ethan Fetzer from Iowa
  • Sundee Holtman, Saydee Longhurst, and Shalani Wilcox from Idaho
  • Chandler Bruns, Katie McCauley, and Garrett Williams from Illinois
  • Jill Allen and Jaclyn Bryant from Maryland
  • Logan Penegor from Minnesota
  • Paige Dameron and Dee Stark from Missouri
  • Alexis Canen and Todd Lackman from Montana
  • Tanner Carrick and Sarah Smart from North Carolina
  • Kaydie Brandl from Nebraska
  • Sydney Gavienelli and Steven Williams from New Jersey
  • Cale Sherwood from New York
  • Douglas Reer and Kayla Wyse from Ohio
  • Hannah Jackson and Colton Johnson from Oklahoma
  • William Horning from Pennsylvania
  • Isaac Kolousek from South Dakota
  • Conner Watts from Texas
  • Shelby Autry and Madison Phillips from Tennessee
  • Hunter Hilbert and Felicity Zimmerman from Virginia
  • Jessie Hooker from Vermont
  • Catherine Karb and Elisha Wade from Washington
  • Allison Schulist and Jodie Weyland from Wisconsin
  • Jason Bechtle from West Virginia
Sponsored Content on AGDaily
Any views or opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not reflect those of AGDAILY. Comments on this article reflect the sole opinions of their writers.