Crops Lifestyle News

BASF and commodity associations award $20,000 in ag scholarships


Investing in the future is always a wise move, and BASF has teamed up with several commodity associations to help give agriculture students a boost.

While at the 2017 Commodity Classic, $20,000 worth of agriculture scholarships were given to 12 students. BASF teamed up with the American Soybean Association, the National Sorghum Producers, the National Corn Growers Association, and the National Wheat Foundation, for the award.

“These students have shown a commitment to the future of our industry through their enthusiasm for learning and desire for sustainable agriculture,” said Neil Bentley, Director of Marketing, U.S. Crop, BASF. “The growth of agriculture starts with promising students like these, and we look forward to seeing their impact.”

Here is the breakdown of the scholarships:

American Soybean Association Scholarship

BASF and ASA presented the 11th ASA Secure Optimal Yield (SOY) Scholarship. The SOY Scholarship is a $5,000 award presented to an exceptional high school senior who thrives in both academics and in leadership roles. Students must also plan to pursue a degree in an agriculture-related field at an accredited college or university to receive the SOY Scholarship.

Clare Sollars of Washington Court House, Ohio, was selected as the 2017-2018 ASA SOY scholarship recipient. Clare will pursue a bachelor’s degree in food engineering at The Ohio State University’s College of Agriculture and College of Engineering.

National Sorghum Foundation — BASF Scholarship

An exciting new scholarship from National Sorghum Producers has emerged for deserving college students. For the first time, the National Sorghum Producers, in partnership with BASF, awarded two $2,500 scholarships. The recipients are pursuing agriculture-related degrees and are making a difference in the industry through their extracurricular activities.

The award was given to:

  • Abigail Arthaud of Keyes, Oklahoma – a senior at Oklahoma State University studying agricultural communication.
  • Cody Nedbalek of College Station, Texas – a graduate student at Texas A&M University, studying biological & agricultural engineering.

National Corn Growers Association Scholarships

NCGA, in partnership with BASF, awards the William C. Berg Academic Excellence in Agriculture scholarship to outstanding undergraduate or graduate students pursuing degrees in agriculture.

Scholarships of $1,000 were awarded to each of the following students:

  • Izak Christensen of Ames, Iowa – a concurrent undergraduate and graduate student at Iowa State University studying agricultural business and agronomy, and pursuing a master’s degree in business administration.
  • Jose Rodrigo Mendoza Jimenez of Guatemala City, Guatemala – a graduate student at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln studying food science and technology.
  • Kelsey Barnes of College Station, Texas – a graduate student at Texas A&M University studying international agriculture.
  • Michael Tupper of Ionia, Iowa – a junior at Iowa State University studying agricultural engineering.
  • Rachel Stevens of Falls City, Nebraska – a graduate student at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln studying mechanized systems management.

National Wheat Foundation Scholarships

The Jerry Minore Memorial Scholarship aids both high school and college students with a track record of success and motivation inside and outside the classroom and who are dedicated to a career in agriculture. The late Jerry Minore was a BASF Senior Market Manager and a liaison to the wheat industry. Since his unexpected death in 2012, BASF has partnered with the NWF to fund scholarships and honor his advocacy efforts for wheat growers. This year, the Jerry Minore Memorial Scholarship committee awarded four students with either $1,000 or $1,500 scholarships.

“These young people are enthusiastic about advocating for our industry,” said NAWG Chairman Dusty Tallman, a wheat grower from Colorado. “We are very proud of this year’s Jerry Minore Memorial Scholarship recipients. These students represent the bright future of agriculture and we are excited to be a part of it.”

Recipients of the scholarship were:

  • Carmen Swannack of Lamont, Washington – a junior at Washington State University studying agricultural biotechnology.
  • Kayla Beechinor of Walla Walla, Washington – a freshman at Washington State University studying agricultural biotechnology and field crop management.
  • Matthew Klopfenstein of Haviland, Ohio – a third-year student at The Ohio State University in Columbus, Ohio, pursuing a degree in biological and agricultural engineering.
  • Travis Born of Ferris, Texas – a sophomore at Texas A&M University-Commerce studying agricultural sciences.
Sponsored Content on AGDaily
Any views or opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not reflect those of AGDAILY. Comments on this article reflect the sole opinions of their writers.