National Dairy Board Scholarship winners announced


As students put in long hours and hard work in and out of school, some go the extra mile to apply for scholarships. The dairy checkoff has awarded 13 academic scholarships to students enrolled in programs that emphasize dairy and who have shown potential to become future dairy leaders. 

The National Dairy Promotion and Research Board, through Dairy Management Inc., which manages the national dairy checkoff, annually awards $2,500 scholarships to each student. In addition, the NDB awards a $3,500 James H. Loper Jr. Memorial Scholarship to one outstanding scholarship recipient.

Eligible majors include journalism, communications/public relations, marketing, business, economics, nutrition, food science or agriculture education. Scholarship criteria include academic achievement, a career interest in a dairy-related discipline, along with demonstrated leadership, initiative and integrity.

Tony Rice, a Penn State University student from Mount Pleasant Mills, Pennsylvania, earned the 2018-19 James H. Loper Jr. Memorial Scholarship.

Students earning $2,500 scholarships are: Christy Achen (Utah State University), Sanne de Bruijn (South Dakota State University), Tiffany Flatman (Brigham Young University), Alexandra Gambonini (California Polytechnic State University), Kathryn Lyne Gardner (University of Arkansas), Morgan Krause (University of Minnesota-Twin Cities), Haely Leiding (University of Minnesota-Twin Cities), Kayla Leiding (University of Minnesota-Twin Cities), Rebekka Paskewitz (South Dakota State University), Elisabeth Regusci (California Polytechnic State University), Andrew James Wilwerding (South Dakota State University) and Dustin Winston (University of Idaho).

Congratulations to all the scholarship winners! Scholarships help students not only with expenses, but also gives each passionate student the ability to follow their dream. 

Sponsored Content on AGDaily
Any views or opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not reflect those of AGDAILY. Comments on this article reflect the sole opinions of their writers.