FFA News

15 FFA Chapters to exceed expectations for Pioneer challenge


Fifteen Iowa and Illinois FFA Chapters will showcase their creativity in the Pioneer brand A-Series soybeans Big A Challenge, with their masterpieces displayed at the 2019 Farm Progress Show in Decatur, Illinois.

A judging panel selected the top 15 chapters in the collaboration between Pioneer and FFA that focuses on the next generation of soybean varieties and the next generation of growers. Each chapter will bring a unique perspective to decorating a seven-foot-tall Big A statue, highlighting A-Series soybeans’ cutting-edge science and game-changing yield potential while celebrating local communities.

The 15 finalists, which will compete to win up to $2,500 for their chapter, are:

  • Atlantic FFA — Atlantic, Iowa
  • Clay City FFA — Clay City, Illinois
  • East Marshall FFA — Le Grand, Iowa
  • Farmington FFA — Farmington, Illinois
  • Maroa Forsyth FFA — Maroa, Illinois
  • Massac County FFA — Metropolis, Illinois
  • Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn-Remsen-Union (MMCRU) FFA — Marcus, Iowa
  • Mount Ayr FFA — Mount Ayr, Iowa
  • Mulberry Grove FFA — Mulberry Grove, Illinois
  • Newell-Fonda FFA — Newell, Iowa
  • North Tama FFA — Traer, Iowa
  • Sibley-Ocheyedan FFA — Sibley, Iowa
  • Stewardson-Strasburg FFA — Strasburg, Illinois
  • Wayne FFA — Corydon, Iowa
  • Wilton FFA — Wilton, Iowa

“We are impressed by the creativity from the next generation,” says John Schartman, Pioneer Soybean Category Lead, Corteva Agriscience, Agriculture Division of DowDuPont. “The FFA chapters brought their ‘A’ game to the first round of competition. We’re excited to see how they will tie together A-Series soybeans, the Pioneer spirit, and their local community in the final designs.”

FFA chapters were selected based on an essay highlighting how A-Series soybeans benefit farmers and a sample design of their Big A statue. Chapters will decorate the Big A statues through May, with the top three winners awarded prize money — $2,500 for first place, $1,500 for second place and $1,000 for third place — at the 2019 Farm Progress Show. The public also will vote for their favorites on the Pioneer Facebook and Twitter pages, with the winning chapter receiving the People’s Choice Award and a special prize for its members.

Follow #FFAseries on Facebook and Twitter to see the creativity of these FFA chapters.

Sponsored Content on AGDaily
Any views or opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not reflect those of AGDAILY. Comments on this article reflect the sole opinions of their writers.