GROWMARK Foundation announces scholarship recipients


Fifteen agriculture students have been selected as the third class of recipients of the GROWMARK Foundation scholarship, each worth $1,500. More than 140 students from across the United States and Ontario, Canada, applied for the award. Applications were evaluated by a panel of agribusiness professionals, and the funds are available for the fall 2019 semester.

Students who were planning to study an agriculture-related field at a college, university, or technical school in the fall of 2019 in the U.S. or Ontario, Canada, were eligible for these scholarships. The application included several short-answer essay questions, and it asked about the student’s academic performance, community involvement, and work experiences.

Scholarship recipients, in alphabetical order, are:

  • McKenzie Carvalho, of Maxwell, California — agribusiness and agricultural communications at Oklahoma State University
  • Conner Christian, of Newark, Illinois — agriculture education at Joliet Junior College
  • Michelle Cooney, of Deer Grove, Illinois — agribusiness and agronomy management at Illinois State University
  • Tyler Ditchfield, of Ottawa, Illinois — agricultural engineering at the University of Illinois
  • Shane Douglas, of Waterloo, Illinois — agricultural and consumer economics at the University of Illinois
  • Rebecca Dwyer, of Eureka, Illinois — agribusiness at Illinois State University
  • Abigayle Endress, of Pearl City, Illinois — agricultural leadership education at the University of Illinois
  • Ashley Hagenow, of Poynette, Wisconsin — agricultural communications and marketing at the University of Minnesota — Twin Cities
  • Rachel Lokai, of Urbana, Ohio — animal science at the Ohio State University
  • Kendall Lovejoy, of Archbold, Ohio — agribusiness at Grace College and Theological Seminary
  • Abbey Schiefelbein, of Kimball, Minnesota — food science and technology at Kansas State University
  • Jenna Straub, of Mahomet, Illinois — agribusiness at Murray State University
  • Lynne Thomas, of Fallston, Maryland — agricultural and extension education at West Virginia University
  • Collin Weltzien, of Arcadia, Wisconsin — agribusiness at the University of Wisconsin — River Falls
  • Courtney Wiedenmann, of Coal Valley, Illinois — agricultural education at Oklahoma State University
Sponsored Content on AGDaily
Any views or opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not reflect those of AGDAILY. Comments on this article reflect the sole opinions of their writers.