Livestock News

10 students awarded pork industry scholarships


The National Pork Producers Council awarded scholarships to 10 college students who intend to pursue careers in the pork industry. The Lois Britt Memorial Pork Industry Scholarship program is sponsored by CME Group and the National Pork Industry Foundation, and managed and administered by National Pork Producers Council. The award was announced at NPPC’s annual National Pork Industry Forum here.

The 2020 winners of the $2,500 scholarships — named after the late NPPC vice president from Mt. Olive, North Carolina — are:

  • Dana Edleman, South Dakota State University
  • Grace Greiner, Iowa State University
  • Molly Kroeger, South Dakota State University
  • Nolan Lyness, Iowa State University
  • Ethan Stas, Pennsylvania State University
  • Logan Tesch, South Dakota State University
  • Zannah Tyndall, North Carolina State University
  • Caitlyn Wileman, Iowa State University
  • Drew Wiley, Kansas State University
  • Isaac Wiley, Iowa State University

The scholarship program was introduced in 1990 by CME Group and NPPC to celebrate the 25th anniversary of CME hog futures. The scholarship was renamed in 2006 to honor the passing of NPPC board member Lois Britt, a lifetime supporter of agriculture. Britt spent 34 years with the North Carolina Cooperative Extension Service and served Smithfield Hog Production in a public and government relations role during the final 15 years of her career. She was inducted into the NPPC Pork Industry Hall of Fame, the North Carolina Pork Council Hall of Fame and awarded the North Carolina 4-H Lifetime Achievement Award.

Related: Find the right school for you with the Agricultural College Guide

To be eligible for a scholarship, students must be undergraduates in a two-year swine program or a four-year college of agriculture.

“These talented young men and women represent the next generation of the U.S. pork industry,” said NPPC President David Herring, a hog farmer from Lillington, North Carolina. “It is our responsibility to educate and encourage future leaders in our industry, and NPPC and CME Group are pleased to award these hardworking students with scholarships,” he added.

Sponsored Content on AGDaily
Any views or opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not reflect those of AGDAILY. Comments on this article reflect the sole opinions of their writers.