National Security

Senate passes bill to get say in national security tariffs

· July 12, 2018

By a vote of 88 to 11 Wednesday, the Senate adopted a non-binding motion giving Congress a say before the president can levy tariffs for national security purposes under Section 232 of the Trade Expansion Act of 1962. U.S. Senators Bob Corker (R-Tenn.), Pat Toomey (R-Pa.), and Jeff Flake (R-Ariz.) said they will continue to […]

Senators unveil bill requiring congressional approval on tariffs

· June 8, 2018

Ten U.S. Senators stepped forward this week to try to curtail President Trump’s proposed tariffs  through new legislation. Bob Corker (R-Tenn.), Heidi Heitkamp (D-N.D.), Pat Toomey (R-Pa.), Mark Warner (D-Va.), Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Mike Lee (R-Utah), Jeff Flake (R-Ariz.), Johnny Isakson (R-Ga.), […]

Load more