FFA News SmartNews

Nationwide opens search for top ag educators in nine states


Agricultural educators serve a critical role in their communities, devoting countless hours to preparing students for successful careers and helping them pursue their passions. To honor their contributions and support them with additional resources, Nationwide and state partners are accepting nominations for the 2022-2023 Golden Owl Award.

Leading educators will be recognized across nine states: California, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and South Dakota. 

As the number one insurer of farms and ranches in the United States, Nationwide inaugurated the Golden Owl Award in 2018 by recognizing the contributions of Iowa and Ohio agricultural teachers and supplying additional resources to bolster their educational efforts. As a result of the positive response, the Golden Owl Award has since expanded to nine states and recently recognized the 2021-22 grand prize winners and “Ag Educators of the Year” for each state.

Following the current nomination period for 2022-2023, a selection committee will determine each state’s finalists, who will receive an individualized plaque and $500 to support their agriculture programs. One grand prize winner in each state will then be selected to win the Ag Educator of the Year title for their state, the coveted Golden Owl Award trophy, and an additional $3,000 Nationwide-funded check.

“We are proud to thank agricultural teachers for the extraordinary care they bring to their work as they go above and beyond in educating America’s youth and future leaders,” said Brad Liggett, Nationwide’s president of Agribusiness. “We’re thankful for the support of our state partners in these efforts to bring much-needed recognition to our teachers across the country.”

Nationwide supports the future of the agriculture community through meaningful sponsorships of national and local organizations. In conjunction with the Golden Owl Award, Nationwide is donating $5,000 to each participating state’s FFA to further support the personal and professional growth of students, teachers and advisors alike.

To learn more or nominate an ag teacher for the 2022-2023 Golden Owl Award, visit www.GoldenOwlAward.com.

Nomination periods are as follows:

  • California Golden Owl nomination period is Sept. 1, 2022-Jan. 23, 2023
  • Illinois Golden Owl Award nomination period is Sept. 1-Dec. 31, 2022
  • Indiana Golden Owl Award nomination period is Nov. 1-Dec. 31, 2022
  • Iowa Golden Owl Award nomination period is Sept. 1-Dec. 1, 2022
  • Nebraska Golden Owl Award nomination period is Oct. 1-Dec. 31, 2022
  • New York Golden Owl Award nomination period is Sept. 1-Nov. 1, 2022
  • Ohio Golden Owl Award nomination period is Sept. 1-Dec. 31, 2022
  • Pennsylvania Golden Owl Award nomination period is Sept. 1-Dec. 31, 2022
  • South Dakota nomination period is Oct. 1-Dec. 31, 2022

The Golden Owl Award is the result of partnerships between Nationwide, the California FFA, California Farm Bureau, Illinois FFA, Illinois Association of Vocational Agriculture Teachers, Farm Credit Illinois, Indiana FFA, Farm Credit Mid-America, the Iowa FFA Foundation, New York FFA, New York Farm Bureau, Ohio FFA, Ohio Farm Bureau, AgCredit, Pennsylvania FFA, Pennsylvania Farm Bureau, Compeer Financial, Nebraska FFA Foundation, Nebraska Agricultural Educators Associate, and South Dakota FFA Foundation.

Sponsored Content on AGDaily
Any views or opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not reflect those of AGDAILY. Comments on this article reflect the sole opinions of their writers.