Lifestyle News

National Black Farmers Association Scholarship awards $100K


Twenty college students from across the United States were awarded $100,000 in National Black Farmers Association scholarships to help defray the cost of college tuition, fees, books, and room and board.The FCA Foundation, the charitable arm of North American automaker FCA US LLC, and the National Black Farmers Association (NBFA) today announced the winners of the 2017-18 National Black Farmers Association Scholarship.

“The FCA Foundation is proud to partner with the National Black Farmers Association, said Shane Karr, Head of External Affairs, FCA – North America and President, FCA Foundation. “Through our shared commitment, a new generation will attain the skills and competencies needed to develop and expand access to sufficient, safe and nutritious food for all.”

2017-2018 National Black Farmers Association Scholarship Winners

  • Alexandra Harris Law Drexel University
  • Jerry Edmonds Higher Education Edgewood College
  • Greg McNealy Agribusiness Florida A&M University
  • Siera Sylvester Agricultural Engineering Florida A&M University
  • Charisma Heath Veterinary Science Fort Valley State University
  • Adelia McKinley Agricultural Economics Fort Valley State University
  • Cameron Bradshaw Agricultural Business Kansas State University
  • Helena Hollins Agriculture Business Langston University
  • Aaron Lewis Animal Science Lincoln University
  • Jayde Daniel Agricultural Sciences Prairie View A&M University
  • Nicholas Fowler Civil Engineering Prairie View A&M University
  • Bryant Hunter Animal Science Prairie View A&M University
  • Michael Walker Animal Science Southern University and A&M College
  • Danelle Solomon Environmental Science Tennessee State University
  • Candace Clark Natural Resources Management Tuskegee University
  • Sydney Lockett Natural Resources Management Tuskegee University
  • Lindsey Lunsford Integrative Public Policy Tuskegee University
  • Conlee Herrera Fry Veterinary Medicine Tuskegee University
  • Edra Fisher Environmental Science University of Illinois Springfield
  • Olivia Pena Food Systems University of Vermont

It is also significant to note that three-quarters of this year’s NBFA scholarship winners are enrolled at 1890 Historically Black Land-Grant Colleges and Universities. The 1890 Land-Grant Universities are a network of 19 historically black colleges and universities, established by a second Morrill Act in 1890 to provide educational opportunity for all through innovative scientific research and community-minded extension programs.

NBFA scholarships are awarded based upon several criteria, including academic performance, demonstrated leadership, participation in agricultural and community activities, and career goals and objectives. Eligible students must also be enrolled or plan to enroll at an accredited two-year or four-year college, university or vocational-technical school.

Sponsored Content on AGDaily
Any views or opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not reflect those of AGDAILY. Comments on this article reflect the sole opinions of their writers.